Heritage BC Awards Program

Heritage BC's mission is to provide leadership for sustainable conservation of British Columbia's unique cultural heritage. Towards this goal, the Annual Awards Program recognizes the outstanding and significant achievements in heritage conservation of individuals, organizations, groups, businesses and government in communities across B.C.


Join the celebration at the Heritage BC 36th Annual Awards Gala where the outstanding and significant achievements of British Columbia’s heritage conservation heroes are recognized!

Enjoy drinks, appetizers and networking with B.C.’s heritage advocates, organizations, groups, businesses and government officials as we honour the winners of the 36th Annual Heritage BC Awards.

Our awards gala venue, Heritage Hall, in Vancouver’s Mount Pleasant is an excellent example of adaptive reuse of a culturally significant heritage building. Originally Postal Station ‘C’, the building was rehabilitated in the early 1980’s to accommodate community event and office space. A book on the history of the Hall, Heritage Hall: Biography of a Building, was the recipient of a Heritage BC Award of Honour in 2003.

Network with some of the most influential people in our sector, congratulate award winners and celebrate with fellow leading and up-and-coming heritage enthusiasts.

Heritage BC 36th Annual Awards Gala
Wednesday, February 15, 2017
Heritage Hall, 3102 Main Street, Vancouver
Networking Reception | 6:30pm-7:30pm
Awards Ceremony | 7:30pm-9pm
Networking and drinks | 9pm-10pm
Tickets | $50.00
Dress code | Cocktail Attire
Appetizers provided by Salishan Catering | Cash bar

>> Ticket Sales

>> Google Map

>> 2017 Winners

Thanks to our generous sponsors:

Award Categories

Heritage BC presents in four categories: Heritage Conservation; Heritage Education and Awareness; Heritage Planning and Management; Distinguished Service Award. 

Heritage Conservation

  • For the preservation, restoration, rehabilitation, or adaptive reuse of historic places
  • Recognizes high standards of heritage conservation based on the national Standards and Guidelines for the Conservation of Historic Places in Canada
  • Emphasizes innovation and commitment to heritage conservation that also contributes to environmental, economic, social and/or cultural sustainability. Examples of connecting heritage and sustainability include: climate change adaptation; climate change mitigation; environmental resource management; downtown/main street revitalization; affordable or special needs housing; community or arts and culture spaces.

Heritage Education and Awareness

  • For increasing awareness and support for historic places and conservation in a community
  • Recognizes achievement in heritage education or interpretation through social media, publications, displays, exhibits, or other products or activities to promote heritage conservation
  • Emphasizes community engagement or public involvement

Heritage Planning and Management

  • For community heritage planning and cultural and heritage resource management
  • Recognizes planning initiatives which support the long-term conservation of heritage resources through conservation plans, community plans, zoning, or financial incentives

Distinguished Service Award

  • For exemplary volunteer commitment by an individual to heritage conservation, through leadership in public awareness, heritage education or interpretation, or heritage advocacy over a considerable period of time.

Levels of Recognition 

There are three levels of recognition for the Heritage Conservation, Heritage Education and Awareness, and Heritage Planning and Management awards categories.

• Outstanding Achievement: for excellence
• Honour: for high achievements
• Recognition: for noteworthy achievements


Projects nominated for an award must have been completed within the past three calendar years.

Individuals, groups, organizations, businesses, government agencies and other entities will be considered for a Heritage BC award, based on evaluation and selection criteria for each of the categories. Please contact Heritage BC for more information on these criteria, and how to prepare the award nomination.

The Awards & Presentation Ceremony

Heritage BC award winners receive a special framed certificate. All awards are presented at the Awards Ceremony and Gala, which takes place during Provincial Heritage Week.

Submitting a Nomination

Nominations can be submitted online on Heritage BC's website. Nominations are now open until end of day on Friday, November 4th, 2016. No more than two nominations may be made by the same nominator in a given year. Incomplete nominations will not be considered by the jury.

All decisions of the Awards Committee are final. Submissions may not be re-nominated in subsequent years in the same award category. Separate phases of large projects may be nominated, as long as they are clearly different from previously completed work.

Following review by the awards jury, nominators and successful nominees will be notified by email or telephone.

Please read our nomination procedures carefully before using the online form to submit a nomination.

» Nomination Procedure

» Nomination Form

» Awards Nominations Media Release



Culture-Heritage Maps









Culture-Heritage Maps